top of page
  • Writer's pictureShirley Tong

Final Assets and Final Panic

Updated: Apr 12, 2019

There is about a week left before we submit the final build of our game, which means all the assets should done. Lucky for me, with the busyness of managing my time to going to GDC, finishing models, and completing contract work... I can safely say that I have completed all that I need to complete.


Game testing

I hope.


So what have I done since the last log? Create two new mask, adding environment objects (such as rocks, tree stumps, bushes), more hair for individual models, our gift items, animations for both boar and characters, and finally... the main menu.


Testing the main menu screen

Out of all the modeling I had to do, I will say hair is the hardest thing to create. For me, trying to make it look natural and not create a high poly count is hard, especially since some of the hair styles were quite elaborate.


Example of a hairstyle I had issues with

The hair model I created

While not the most perfect looking design, it worked well enough to fool the players into thinking it looked very stylized. The downside to creating such hair is the high increase of polys, which is evident by the many hair poly pieces.


The game itself was quite popular during the showing at Oakville Public Library, where many children tried their best to bypass the 7 minute limit we had programmed. Many of the adults enjoyed the art assets, while the children themselves enjoyed the building aspect of the game.

Hopefully we will yield the same results during our time at Level Up Student Showcase.

bottom of page